odisha tours

Joranda Sadhu Festival Tour 2019 (18th and 19th February 2019)

joranda-sadhu-festival-tour

Joranda Mela of Odisha (Orissa) has religious spirit associated with it. Joranda Mela is organized in Joranda of Dhenkanal district, hence the name Joranda Fair. People across India congregate in Joranda to observe this mega fair. The fair is held annually on the full moon day of Hindi calendar month Magha (in January- February).

A Havan or Yagya is held in 'Yajna Kund' as a part of mela celebrations. Thousands of liters of ghee are offered and burned in havan fire to ensure bringing back peace to life on earth and all the people will be gifted with all his basic needs. Atmosphere reverbs with the sound of 'Alekh Brahma' by devotees in rhythmic tone. This unique itinerary also ends with another colourful Rajim kumbha mela at rajim, in Chhattisgarh state. And the colourful dance festival at Konark.

Location of this festival: Joranda (Mahima Monastry) is 25 km from Dhenkanal and 90 km from Bhubaneswar.

Nearest Airport: Bhubaneswar Airport (BBI) (2hr Drive - 90 km)

Nearest Railway Station: Dhenkanal (45 minute Drive - 25km), Major Rail Head: Cuttack (2hr Drive - 60km)

Tour Program: Our suggested program cover the most colourful Joranda Sadhu (Fair) festival at Joranda, Dhenkanal, the dance and music festival at Konark, the colourful Rajim Kumbha mela of Chhattisgarh, the tribes of Odisha and Chhattisgarh with their interesting weekly markets, villages.

Tour itinerary / duration: 17 Night / 18 Days

Proposed Tour Itinerary

    • Day 01: 16th Feb 2019 (Sat) - Arrival at Bhubaneswar
    • Day 02: 17th Feb (Sun) - Bhubaneswar & explore the temple city.
    • Day 03: 18th Feb (Mon) - Bhubaneswar-Nuapatana textile village-Dhenkanal
    • Day 04: 19th Feb (Tue) - Dhenknal-Joranda-Sadhu Festival
    • Day 05: 20th Feb (Wed) - Dhenknal-Bhitarkanika national park
    • Day 06: 21st Feb (Thu) - Bhitarkanika- Puri
    • Day 07: 22nd Feb (Fri) - Puri-konark dance festival
    • Day 08: 23rd Feb(Sat) - Puri-explore rural villages
    • Day 09: 24th Feb (Sun) - Puri-Chilika lake-Baliguda
    • Day 10: 25th Feb (Mon) - Baliguda-Kutiakondh Tribes-Rayagada
    • Day 11: 26th Feb (Tue) - Rayagada-Excursion to Desiakondh Tribes
    • Day 12: 27th Feb (Wed) - Rayagada-Dunguria Tribes-Desia Camp
    • Day 13: 28th Feb (Thu) - Desia Camp-Bonda Tribes-Desia Camp
    • Day 14: 1st Mar (Fri) - Desia Camp-Jagdalpur
    • Day 15: 2nd Mar (Sat) - Jagdalpur-Kanker
    • Day 16: 3rd Mar (Sun) - kanker-Rajim Kumbha mela-raipur
    • Day 17: 4th Mar (Mon) - Raipur-Shiva ratri festival
    • Day 18: 5th Mar (Tue) - Raipur Drop

For more inquiries, please send us mail to bubu@heritagetoursorissa.com or call us at +91 943 702 3656.

BOOK NOW

Heritage Tours Orissa Since 1997

Mayfair Heritage, C.T. Road, Puri, Odisha - 752002, India

Phone: +91 94370 23656, +91 (6752) 255595 / 255656

Email: bubu@heritagetoursorissa.com

GST No.: 21ABOPK8954C1ZM

Odisha TourismIndian Association of Tour Operators (IATO)Ministry of Tourism Government of IndiaAssociation of Domestic Tour Operators of India (ADTOI)The International Ecotourism Society

Recognised by Odisha Tourism & Ministry of Tourism Government of India | Active Member: IATO, ADTOI and The International Ecotourism Society.

odisha cycle tours 2018